Education

Chair: L.A. Bisby, University of Edinburgh, UK (luke.bisby@ed.ac.uk)

 Date of Formation: July 2007

 Objectives:

 To develop strategies to attain educational and training objectives of the IIFC

  • To provide guidance for the organization of special sessions, workshops, and/or seminars (to be offered in conjunction with the CICE conference series)
  • To develop Education Modules on FRP composites in construction to be used globally in undergraduate (and eventually also in graduate and professional) engineering curricula
  • To provide a forum for exchange, discussion and consolidation of ideas and educational best-practices through the organization of specialist workshops and special sessions at conferences

 Deliverables: 

  • Targeted internationally applicable Education Modules (draft versions December 2011). The development of each module is being led by the individuals indicated below. Please contact the specific module leader if you are interested in contributing:  
  1. FRP Composites for Construction – Materials and Mechanics, Dr. Luke Bisby (luke.bisby@ed.ac.uk)
  2. Reinforcing Concrete Structures with FRPs, Dr. Fabio Matta (fmatta@miami.edu)
  3. Strengthening Concrete Structures with FRPs, Prof. Emmanuel Ferrier (Emmanuel.Ferrier@univ-lyon1.fr)
  4. Strengthening Metallic Structures with FRPs, Dr. Tim Stratford (tim.stratford@ed.ac.uk)
  5. Strengthening Masonry Structures with FRPs, Dr. Enzo Martinelli (e.martinelli@unisa.it)
  6. Durability of FRP Composites for Construction, Dr. Raafat El-Hacha (relhacha@ucalgary.ca)
  7. All-FRP Structures and FRP hybrid structures, Dr. Thiru Aravinthan (aravinthant@usq.edu.au)   
  • Development and delivery of CICE pre-conference workshops on teaching FRP Composites for Construction at the undergraduate level